Faster Than Sound, Experimental Electronic Music Showcase, Announces 2008 Lineup

Faster Than Sound 2008, an experimental electronic music event that’s part of the UK’s Aldeburgh Festival, has announced this year’s final lineup of artists, which includes Plaid, Johann Johannsson, Vasdislav Delay, Hauschka, and Mira Calix.

Faster Than Sound is a sound experiment joining the dots between musical genres and digital art forms. Since its inception as part of the Aldeburgh Festival in 2006, Faster than Sound has brought together the seemingly disparate worlds of contemporary classical music, electronica, and interactive visual art, showing the various ways in which these can blend, overlap, contrast and jar with each other. The results over the past two years have at times been beautiful, ugly, natural, chaotic, but always fascinating and always unexpected.

Faster Than Sound returns to the Aldeburgh Festival on Friday the 27th and Saturday the 28th of June, this time as a series of three events beginning with a late-night performance of Stockhausen’s avant-garde classic Stimmung at Snape Maltings Concert Hall. The following day, the action moves to Aldeburgh Cinema where Faster Than Light, an eclectic trip through films combining music and image, will be shown. The final part of the trilogy will take place in the surreal surroundings of Bentwaters Airbase, the location for the previous two incarnations of Faster Than Sound , where within the acoustically-sealed hangar The Hush House there will be performances by Plaid, Tim Exile, Mira Calix and more.

More information on Faster Than Sound 2008.

Author: FutureMusic

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This