Virsyn Unveils Poseidon Soft Synth

Virsyn has released Poseidon, a new soft synth with their F-Domain Synthesis. At first sight Poseidon looks like a simple structured analog Oscillator-Filter synthesizer, but the real power Virsyn claims is working under the hood: The spectral modelling sound generator of CUBE. The variable slope Filter is a completely new design based on our unique F-domain synthesis.

Spectral model oscillator allows you to select a basic sound model from over hundred options and control the temporal evolution of a complex sound model with time stretching, manual time control and freezing. High level controls allow for changing the spectral shape, the harmonicity and balances the level of residual noise and spectral amount of the oscillator model. The inherent sound movement can be blurred in time. The newly developed F-Domain filter allow for drastic changes in the resulting sound spectrum. Five filter types including lowpass/highpass characteristic can be used to shape the sound. They have the usual controls like cutoff but also very unusual ones like a variable slope ranging from 0 dB to 72 dB / Octave and independent controls for resonance and bandwidth.

Spectral modelling oscillator
• 512 oscillators
• harmonic/inharmonic spectra
• arbitrary noise spectra
• 8 times unisono mode

Time machine:
• free control over temporal evolution of sound
• modulatable time stretching/compression
• time freeze

Timbre control:
• natural Brightness control
• Balance partial spectrum and residual noise
• Frequency stretching
• Amplitude/Frequency blur filter.

F-Domain Filter:
• Lowpass / Highpass / comb / Antiresonance
• Unique design with resonance and bandwidth.

• Independent moving stereo position of each partial

• AIFF/WAV sample import
• Sine spectrum
• Residual spectrum

• Chorus/Phaser/Flanger
• Distortion
• Echo/Delay
• Reverb
• Arpeggiator

Virsyn’s Poseidon can be used as a standalone synth or a VST2 / AudioUnit / RTAS plug-in. Poseidon costs €199. More information on Virsyn Poseidon.

Author: FutureMusic

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This