Danger Mouse Scores Grammy Nod For Producer Of The Year

Nominations for the 49th Annual Grammy Awards were just announced by The Recording Academy, reflecting a year in which multiple genres were represented in top categories, new up-and-comers were nominated alongside established artists and a diverse array of producers and other creative professionals garnered multiple nominations. Mary J. Blige tops the nominations with eight, while Red Hot Chili Peppers garner six, James Blunt, the Dixie Chicks, John Mayer, Danger Mouse, Prince, Rick Rubin, will.i.am and John Williams each earn five nods. Beyoncé, Bryan-Michael Cox, Gnarls Barkley, Israel Houghton, T.I and Justin Timberlake receive four each.

The 49th Annual Grammy Awards will be held on “Grammy Sunday,” Feb. 11 from 8 – 11:30 p.m EST, at Staples Center in Los Angeles and once again will be broadcast live in high-definition TV and 5.1 surround sound on CBS.

In the production and engineering categories, the following are this year’s nominations:

Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical (An Engineer’s Award. (Artists names appear in parenthesis):
• Adieu False Heart: Gary Paczosa, engineer (Linda Ronstadt & Ann Savoy) [Vanguard Records]
• At War With The Mystics: The Flaming Lips & Dave Fridmann, engineers (The Flaming Lips) [Warner Bros. Records]
• Like Red On A Rose: Brandon Bell, Terry Christian & Gary Paczosa, engineers (Alan Jackson) [Arista Nashville]
• The Phat Pack: Marcelo Penell, Dave Sharenow & Tommy Vicari, engineers (Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band) [Immergent]
• Suitcase: Rik Pekkonen & John Porter, engineers (Keb’ Mo’)[Epic/One Haven/Red Ink]

Producer Of The Year, Non-Classical (A Producer’s Award. (Artists names appear in parenthesis):
• Howard Benson – Every Man For Himself (Hoobastank), Flyleaf (Flyleaf), In With The Out Crowd (Less Than Jake), One-X (Three Days Grace), The Paramour Sessions (Papa Roach), Popaganda (Head Automatica), Saosin (Saosin)

• T Bone Burnett – Thunderbird (Cassandra Wilson), The True False Identity (T Bone Burnett), Walk The Line — Soundtrack (Joaquin Phoenix & Various Artists)

• Danger Mouse – Pieces Of The People We Love (The Rapture), St. Elsewhere (Gnarls Barkley)

• Rick Rubin – American V: A Hundred Highways (Johnny Cash), God’s Gonna Cut You Down (Johnny Cash) , Stadium Arcadium (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Taking The Long Way (Dixie Chicks, 12 Songs (Neil Diamond)

• Will.i.am – About You (Mary J. Blige Featuring Will.i.am), Big Girls Don’t Cry (Fergie), Damn Girl (Justin Timberlake Featuring Will.i.am), Am Somebody (Santana Featuring Will.i.am), I Love My B**** (Busta Rhymes Featuring Kelis & Will.i.am), Mas Que Nada (Sergio Mendes Featuring The Black Eyed Peas), Timeless (Sergio Mendes)

In the General Field, nominees for Album Of The Year are Taking The Long Way by the Dixie Chicks, St. Elsewhere by Gnarls Barkley, Continuum by John Mayer, Stadium Arcadium by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and FutureSex/LoveSounds by Justin Timberlake. Nominees for Record Of The Year are “Be Without You” (Mary J. Blige), “You’re Beautiful” (James Blunt), “Not Ready To Make Nice” (Dixie Chicks), “Crazy” (Gnarls Barkley) and “Put Your Records On” (Corinne Bailey Rae). The Best New Artist nominees are rock troubadour James Blunt, R&B singer Chris Brown, British singer/songwriter Imogen Heap, neo-soul singer Corinne Bailey Rae and country singer Carrie Underwood.

More information and a detailed list of all the Grammy nominations.

Author: FutureMusic

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This